This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Access to urgent care"

About: Aberdeen Health and Care Village / GMED General Practices in Grampian Scottish Ambulance Service / Emergency Ambulance

(as a relative),

Called 999 following my mum being unwell and deteriorating with symptoms (atypical) suggestive  of a stroke. Waited approx 90mins for clinician to call back to triage. Ambulance arrived within 10mins. Following assessment, it was decided my mum did not require transfer to A&E. However they would discuss with gmed to request a review +\- an  antiemetic to be prescribed. Gmeds declined to review or prescribe an antiemetic as my mum had now settled, however this was through exhaustion, not an improvement. 

We were told to wait to call GP the following morning  or call back 111. On calling GP at 0800, we were offered a telephone call later that morning and subsequently asked to attend the surgery that afternoon. I requested a prescription of stemetil to alleviate the symptoms of a presumed vestibular problem. We received the prescription the following day. 
I am very aware of the extreme pressures the health service is under and I fully accept the decision not to transfer to a&e due to it being considered a non life threatening event and the situation of ambulance stacking. However, I am extremely disappointed at the lack of support given by gmeds overnight. It took approx 18hours for us to get a prescription for something that could have been prescribed and collected by myself that evening instead of being told to call back 111 if the symptoms were to continue. This putting further pressure on the 111 service and their GP colleagues the next day. Whilst also leaving my mum to suffer unnecessary for a prolonged period of time. 
I believe that interventions could have occurred at several points throughout this journey to not only improve patient care and experience but also to ensure that the right care was given at the right time. 
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from David King, Patient Experience Coordinator, Corporate Affairs, Scottish Ambulance Service 6 days ago
David King
Patient Experience Coordinator, Corporate Affairs,
Scottish Ambulance Service
Submitted on 05/08/2022 at 08:10
Published on Care Opinion at 08:10

Dear L29iz30

I am sorry to hear of your experience regarding your mother. It sounds like you had quite an ordeal.

If there are any aspects of the care your mother received from the Scottish Ambulance Service that you would like investigated could I ask that you contact our Patient Experience Team at and include your name and username, your mother's name and the date and address we attended.

I do hope your mother is feeling better.

Kindest rgards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k