This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"M sister whom is a patient"

About: Wythenshawe Hospital / General medicine

(as a relative),

I have my elderly sister in opal house Wythenshawe.

Up to now she has called me around 9:30 am one morning, crying in agony waiting for her medication, she tells me she has called for her medication numerous times and has been told they are on the way, this has happened each morning in the past 3 days or so. It is painful to hear this from her down the phone, she has ended up in opal house due to the fact that she has had a fall at home in her supported living accommodation. She suffers with dreadful arthritis which seems to be worse and may be connected to the fall, she also has parkinsons disease and struggles with her mobility and can shuffle precariously around with a crutch.

I am actually heart broken with the conversation I've just had. I have just called her back  at and she's just been given it, the person who gives out the medication brought her meds and told her they were sorry it was 2 hours late but staff thought she'd been given her medication. This to me is lack of communication on the professionals part and very concerning as to how many other patients are crying in pain waiting for medication that the medication distributor thinks they have already had it in Opal House. When she's at home she has control of her meds and never gets into this situation.


Response from Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust 2 days ago
Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust
Submitted on 07/05/2021 at 15:36
Published on Care Opinion at 16:41

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We were sorry to learn of your sister’s unsatisfactory experience at Opal House. We hope we can assure you that the Trust strives to provide patients with excellent care and experience, so we are sorry that we did not achieve it for your sister on this occasion.

It is important to us that comments are heard and seen as an opportunity provided to the service to make changes and improvements wherever possible, so that others don’t experience the same issues as you and your sister did.

In response to your comment, your concerns have been raised directly with the staff involved, they have reflected on the importance to receive a detailed handover of the diagnosis of patients and then plan their medicine round to administer time critical medication as a priority. They sincerely apologise for the distress to yourself and your sister. We endeavour to promote a culture of individualised care and will continue to review options for patients to self-medicate safely, as we understand the importance of this for patients within our care.

Should you remain dissatisfied and wish to discuss your experience further, please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) at your earliest opportunity on telephone 0161 276 8686, or email quoting PO21/0007, and they will do their best to address your concerns.

The Patient Experience Team

Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /