This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Extremely disappointing"

About: Portland Road Practice

I will not complain about the doctors because when I had the opportunity to see two of them they have been very kind and professional.

However, the management of this practice is poor, the staff who answer the phone are normally not prepared to answer to questions and most of times lazy and rude. It is almost impossible to be contacted from a doctor in a timely fashion when requested. Everytime I needed a referral I had to chase several times as if they do not realise that the good in stake is not a market item but health!

Today I have been blamed for being rude by a lady on the phone just because I complained for the above reasons. She kept on denying evident lack of professionalism on their side and this made me lose my temper but I never offended her who instead tried to use the victim tactics to conceal the lowquality service they offer.

I am now going to change GP and I strongly recommend everyone to do the same. They do not deserve to be funded by NHS, they are a true disgrace!

More about: logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Portland Road Practice 2 years ago
Portland Road Practice
Submitted on 26/09/2019 at 13:21
Published on on 08/10/2019 at 13:06

Dear Patient

I am sorry to read that you are unhappy with our service. I have spoken to the administrative team and understand you were unhappy because of the time frame for a routine telephone consultation, which you made on the 24th September. Routine telephone consultations are responded to as soon as capacity will allow but it can take 5 days, especially if a preferred doctor is requested and I understand you did ask for a specific doctor. Unfortunately that doctor works 3 days a week and her availability for routine consultations is further limited. You are on that doctor's waiting list for a telephone consultation but as you are registering elsewhere we will cancel that appointment unless we hear from you.

Our staff are not a barrier to treatment but carry out the policy of the practice and it is not appropriate for patients to loose their temper with them.

Once again I apologise if you were unhappy with our service.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k