"Pass remarkable GP"

About: General practices in Lanarkshire

(as the patient),

Having had to attend my GP surgery for various infections and a stress related illness a few times in the last 7months, I have found 2 GPs in particular pass remarkable and judgemental. That makes me feel very uneasy and guilty for using services when I know my appointments were valid and necessary.

I feel the compassion and care has gone from the practice. Previous long standing GPs would have never treated patients they way some of the new staff do. There seems to be one GP who has the friendly caring manner in which to engage in consultations but unfortunately these GPs are back to back with appointments and you cant get an appointment with them as I believe everyone wants to see them and I would guess for all my reasons above.

My experiences of late always makes the think twice about calling the practice when I know I need advice or an appointment because I know I am being judged and will have to face some back handed comment.   I should challenge that but your voice and confidence seems leave the room when you enter the consultation den.


Response from Laura Jack, Service Improvement Manager – Paediatrics & CAMHS, Paediatrics and CAMHS, NHS Lanarkshire 10 months ago
Laura Jack
Service Improvement Manager – Paediatrics & CAMHS, Paediatrics and CAMHS,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 27/01/2020 at 10:19
Published on Care Opinion at 10:19

picture of Laura Jack

Hi Louise 2020,

Thanks for getting in touch with us, however I'm really sorry to read of your experiences with your local GP. I'm really sorry too that this has left you feeling like you can't contact the practice and you feel judged.

GP's are independent contractors and so would be able to look into your concerns and get back to you directly, however I understand this might be difficult or uncomfortable for you, given your experiences of late.

If possible, can you contact us at the following email address and perhaps we can contact the practice on your behalf and see how we move things forward. Or we can advise on how to register elsewhere if this might be an option.

You can reach us at:


or tel 01698 858 321. Please quote 'Care Opinion' story so we can track it.

I look forward to your contact, thanks again


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Louise 2020 (the patient)

Thank you for replying but unfortunately I wont be taking it further. It would only make my experiences of using GP services more uneasy in the future. I also dont want to change practices although I wont fully rule it out. I have been with the practice almost 25yrs and I'm not allowing some GPs who may move on to make me change practices. I understand the pressure some GPs are under to deliver services and the constraints on time and resources but my experiences show the empathy and compassion are not there and I believe that has nothing to do with resources more the persons themselves.. You wonder why you would enter the profession otherwise...I can take a guess as to why.

Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Focus Search Box /