"Unfit facilities"

About: Glasgow Royal Infirmary / General Medicine

(as the patient),

October 2018 I had the misfortune of being an inpatient in Glasgow Royal Infirmary ward 11. This is the old style Nightingale wards, I have had multiple brain surgeries and was an inpatient with headaches.

Ward is in my opinion not fit for purpose, main door 2m from end of my bed, which staff use 24/7 and that's just start of it.

Went through complaints process, which isn't fit for purpose, was issued bog standard dismissive letters rather than provided outcomes.

The main outstanding issue which your complaints department refuse to deal with is, whilst an inpatient I heard a HCA make derogatory remarks to a patient about another patient. Your complaints department refuse to answer this, despite me correctly pointing out these ARE breaches of patient confidentiality, inappropriate and breaches of the patients personal data. 

Raised with your Information Governance team, who not only take THREE months to bother to issue a plain reply, then say they can't comment as the complaints department have responded, which they haven't.

This is a serious issue and your staff are going above and beyond to brush this issue away, rather than take action.

1. HCA Told another Patient (patient B ) in passing that (patient A) was 35 and bloody 35 stone.

2. When a porter came to the ward to collect Patient A. The HCA shouted from one end of the ward to the other that the trolley would no good, and that they would need a bariatric trolley to transport Patient B

Accept your mistakes and apologise, SIMPLE.

Responses

Response from John Stuart, Chief Nurse, North Sector, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde 12 months ago
John Stuart
Chief Nurse, North Sector,
NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
Submitted on 14/11/2019 at 17:53
Published on Care Opinion at 17:53


Dear GRI patient,

I was very disappointed to hear of your recent experience of ward 11 and I apologise for any distressed this has caused you.

I note that you have already highlighted your concerns through the complaints process however some outstanding issues remain. I would recommend that you pick these outstanding issues up with complaints team and should you remain dissatisfied after this, there is a complaints appeal procedure you can access via the Scottish Public Sector Ombudsman.

The complaints team will provide details of the appeals process as part of their final response to you.

Your sincerely,

John Stuart

Chief Nurse.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by outflowrw67 (the patient)

I would prefer that you have my complaint looked into, instead I feel I have been palmed off on a process that takes 9+ months to receive a response

My complaint hasn’t been resolved in the 13 months. I would like someone to take some ownership. I feel I have been palmed off on governance team who don’t reply as it's a complaint not a governance issue. Which is false.

Response from John Stuart, Chief Nurse, North Sector, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde 12 months ago
John Stuart
Chief Nurse, North Sector,
NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
Submitted on 29/11/2019 at 14:53
Published on Care Opinion at 14:53


Dear Outflowrw67

I am sorry that you are unhappy with our Complaints investigation; unfortunately we are unable to re-open your case. However, you can contact the Scottish Public Services Ombudsman to review your complaint. Their details are as follows:

Freephone telephone number: 0800 377 7330

Website: www.spso.org.uk

Freepost SPSO (this is all you need to write on the envelope, and you don’t need to use a stamp)

Online contact form www.spso.org.uk/contact-form

Regards

John Stuart

Chief Nurse

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by outflowrw67 (the patient)

The lack of action is disgraceful. I don't believe there has been a complaint investigation.

14 months and I am finally palmed off on SPSO.

Careopinion are a disgrace too, this is meant to be a forum for given feedback, yet you censor as you please. Post as you please. Change usernames with no due reason. What's the point in you being here if you deem these behaviours acceptable.

Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Navigation
Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Actions
Focus Search Box /