This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Never again !!"

About: University College Hospital

What I liked

While I was waiting at A&E,there was senior Dr.came to waiting room and, apologize for long waiting.

What could be improved

attitude of receptionists which I find a pretty rude and very unfriendly!!

Anything else?

I am still very upset about experience I receive by A&E the nurses and the doctors and especially,one of Doctor who was on duty at A&E on Saturday the 5th of Feb afternoon.I injured my finger and, the first consultation by A&E a nurse who told me that need to have an X-ray and taking some of blood from my injury finger to stop thumping and swelling.The nurse did not explain to me this point that this procedure might be painful.after X-ray, I discovered that I have a broken fracture on my finger but,senior doctor recommended to take some of blood from my injured finger which I was told by a nurse before but still no mention of pain I was going through..then a doctor called me a room to starting procedure without any words,he just stabbed the needle in between my finger nail and skin.I screamed of pain!! I told him to stop but he didn't immediately.I was in tear and said to this doctor that if would anyone explain to me that was going to be without anesthetic,I would have think not having done this procedure.It was a brutal and agony !!I had a natural birth twice but,this pain was unbelievable!! this doctor was so arrogant and extremely,he passed to other nurse to look after me.this point I felt violated by whole situation.even,I was told by senior doctor who was going to give me a strong pain killer but, I had to remind a nurse that I should get them.

There was a lot of confusion and luck of communication.I need to go back to this hospital to see a orthopedics which promised by senior doctor that will contact to me this week but I am still waiting for an appointment date.FracturesX-rayX-rayDoctorsNursing staffAppointmentsArrogantAttitudeCommunicationRude logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University College Hospital 10 years ago
University College Hospital
Submitted on 24/02/2011 at 12:34
Published on on 17/04/2011 at 10:50

I am sorry to read that you have not had a postive experience of our emergency department and would encourage you to provide us with further details so we can investigate the issues you have raised. We take all complaints seriously and use feedback and learning from these to improve our services.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k