This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"plenty of information and advice child ..."

What I liked

plenty of information and advice

child respected and treated as a person

child was given clear information of what was to happen over her visit.

sedation was explained before going into theatre so that she was prepared. this was very good.

theatre was tidy and plenty of people, everthing went as planned and the process was quick. childs treatment was top dollar. i wish i was taken care of like this when i went to the dentist as a child.

What could be improved

private areas needed for children to wake up and recover. instead you have one area where others are and the other kids and parents were in various states. you could feel kids getting confused with hearing different voices and languages. this was the worst bit, this is were you'd want some privacey .

Anything else?

large waiting room was packed solid - stuffy-dull, plenty of mags and tv. we had an 9pm appointment though took over an hour for first call up, then sent back to waiting room, waited another 15-20mins,then went up stairs. no privacey for patients when we walked passed them to the far chair. got back to my car for 1140. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Dental Hospital 13 years ago
Birmingham Dental Hospital
Submitted on 22/04/2009 at 08:57
Published on on 25/07/2010 at 20:37

Thank you for taking time to give feedback about your experience of Birmingham Dental Hospital, the clinicians work hard to ensure that children understand what is happening and are as comfortable as possible and I am delighted to read that you found the services to be 'top drawer'. I assume by the time of your appointment that you were using the out of hours service available via NHS Direct for Birmingham registered patients during evenings and weekends.

I am sorry you had a long wait to be called in after you arrived; however, it is difficult to predict the clinical need of people until they have arrived, and therefore some clinicians are delayed when patients require more complex and time-consuming treatments, and is also dependent upon how long each patient's sedation takes.

The timing of appointments has been reviewed recently by clinicians to see if waiting times could be reduced and it was felt that the current system is in the best interests of patients, allowing time to address individual requirements for sedation.

We are aware that the open clinical bays do offer limited privacy to patients, however, they are designed as they are to allow dental students to be supervised and to enable students to seek advice and guidance should it be needed. Student training is a key role of the Birmingham Dental Hospital.

We are aware that there is limited space allocated for post-surgery recovery however your comments have been passed to the Medical Director and will be included in discussions about improvements to the existing building and within the proposals for a new Birmingham Dental Hospital.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k