"Surgical Day Unit Appalling"

About: Friarage Hospital Site

Anything else?

Second time on this day unit - complained to chief exec after appalling experience was told my suggestions would be looked at - 12 months later Just the same - same dreary & shabby mis match of curtains,same uncomfortable chairs & despite being in severe discomfort there were no beds only 2 comfortable reclining chairs on the unit (I wasn't allocated one) No thought given to what type of procedure being undertaken. Patients all herded in like cattle no thought given to the whole process of bringing patients in on a staggered basis depending on the time of scheduled surgery. The staff are too busy sitting chatting to bother to check on patients -I waited over 9 hours to go to theatre was severely dehydrated, anxious and tearful but no one noticed on the unit until a very kind theatre nurse noticed how upset I was brought me some hankies & and reassured me.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Friarage Hospital Site

Good afternoon Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Friarage Hospital. I am sorry you have further cause for concern and we would like to investigate the issues you have highlighted. The Trust take all feedback seriously and I should be grateful therefore if you would contact the Patient Relations Department on 01642 854500, to discuss your concerns further and the options available to take them forward. Yours sincerely Mrs Linda Oliver Patient Experience Co-ordinator

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story