"Great hospital but need better facilities for..."

About: Wythenshawe Hospital

Anything else?

I recently had a stay on Wilson Ward due to a chest infection. I am a wheelchair user and due to my muscle wasting condition i require my mum to stay with me 24/7 as i am unable to do anything physical for myself. The ward had no problem with my mum staying, in fact they were quite grateful otherwise one of the nurses would need to stay with me at all times which is impossible on a busy ward like that. The problem we had was that my mum had to sleep on the end of my bed for the first 3 nights as the only recliner chair was already being used (ONE recliner chair between a large ward??). This meant that my mum couldn't sleep properly for 3 nights, being a full time carer is tiring enough, even more so during a hospital stay when i'm needing extra care due to being poorly so as you can probably imagine she was exhausted. I know that the patient is the priority but i really think this needs looking into, a recliner chair beside each bed would be great.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wythenshawe Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the NHS Choices Website. Please accept our apologies for the delay in responding to your comments and for yours and your mother's experience when you were a patient at UHSM. Please be assured that your comments will be passed to the relevant department to note, however, in order to investigate your concerns fully we would encourage you to contact the Patient Experience Team on 0161 291 5600 or via email at pls@uhsm.nhs.uk. Kind regards Patient Experience Team UHSM

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story