"We have visited the hospital on ..."

About: West Middlesex University Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

We have visited the hospital on a number of occassions:

1) 12 year old daughter's tonsillectomy - this went well and all staff very helpful and sensitive to her age etc. Only blip being that she was sent home that day with Calpol 6plus! Given that prior to surgery she had been taking Adult Paracetomol & Ibuprofen at adult dose, this was totally inadequate - ended up back in A& E where she was given much stronger pain relief.

2) Same daughter broke arm in two places, was plastered and again everyone really helpful! Not so the second time we went - had been told to return to A&E if in any discomfort etc. and if plaster was hurting - by end of first week plaster had rubbed hand to point of bleeding - whilst staff did treat they made it clear that they felt that we were wasting their time!

3) Hubby gave birth to kidney stones - very painful but staff were all wonderful!

4) Minor gynae surgery for me this time - all went very well and staff all great!

5) Hubby suffered very severe migraine requiring injection (which he carries), unfortunately unable to self administer as too ill, was taken from work to A&E with injection and 'pen' - staff unable to administer (even with the instruction leaflet) - not because medicine not required but because they didn't know how - ended up having to dispense same medication but in one of their injections which took over 2 hours!

6) Daughter prescribed normal antibiotics by GP to treat tonsillitis (as many times before), unfortunately developed reaction (welts and breathing difficulties), A&E superb, treated, and reassured very quickly!

What could be improved

In some cases staff were a little unhelpful, particularly if we appeared to know about our condition or needs - they seemed to feel threatened by our level of knowledge!

Staff at all levels need to listen to patients more - in the case of my daughter the pain that she experienced was appalling, as an over 12, having been through puberty she needed adult pain relief! She finished with an infection etc. and was quite oporly as a result of being frightened to swallow / eat etc. due to pain!

On the flip side staff are in the main very helpful providing patients treat them with the respect and pleasantness that they have a right to expect!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from West Middlesex University Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your experiences at our hospital. You have raised some very specific points which are difficult to respond to without knowing the full details.

We would like to apologise that your treatment did not meet the high standards we aim for.

Your comments have been passed on to the relevent clinicians, including our A&E consultants.

You were right to return to A&E to have your daughters plater-cast looked at, and we would encourage anyone in a similar position to do so.

In terms of administering a patient's own medicine, there are a number of very important issues that our doctors have to adhere to. For example they have to be sure that there is not another underlying condition, and that the medicine supplied by the patient is safe to administer - for example some medicines require storage at a particular temperature. If there is any uncertainty about the origin or safety of the patient's medication, then it may be safer to use our own where the quality is assured.

If you would like to discuss any of the issues you have raised in more detail, our PALS (patient advice and liaison team) would be pleased to help. They can be contaced by emailing pals.service@wmuh.nhs.uk or calling 020 8321 6261. They can also arrange for you to meet with one of our A&E consultants if you wish.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful