"Drugs only no talking therapy or counselling"

About: Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust / Inpatient mental health care

(as the patient),

I was sectioned under mental health act for 1 month to highbury hospital Nottingham

From the minute I walked in to the time I left not one person on my ward was offered any form of talk therapy or counselling regarding there " diagnosed illness" or factors surrounding admission

the ONLY treatment I was given was drugs! Which you have to take by force

How can patients get well with a drug only approach? !

The whole time I was there no one even thought to check that my initial diagnosis which had been doled out by 2 doctors who only saw me for 5 minutes in total was correct or needed amending! But treatment sorry drugs where doled out for this initial diagnosis

The drug I was given was caused tongue to jump uncontrollably, muscle stiffness a mask for a face, couldn't separate fingers, massive weight loss, bruising, rashes, hot sweats and massive anxiety. None of which I had suffered before being forced this horrible drug!

It wasn't until sometime later that I found out there was a kind of antidote drug to help ease my side effects but they could only give it if I asked for it! How can you ask for something that you are not even aware exists? Doesn't make sense

In my opinion counselling would be a better option and there are NO nasty side effects from talking!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jane Danforth, Involvement Team , Involvement & Experience, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

picture of Jane Danforth

I am very sorry your experience on the ward was so difficult. I have passed it on for comment. I'm not sure which ward you refer to but I have passed this onto the service manager as it is clearly unaaceptable to feel that you were not given any choice in your care.

Please accept my sincere apologies

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Ruth Gadd, Acting Service Manager , City Crisis Team, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS trust

I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience about your treatment options during your stay in Hospital. If you would like to discuss your experience further then please don't hesitate to get in touch with me.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Girl interrupted by system (the patient)

Its all very well saying contact me! but where are your contact details??

Updates, changes and questions related to this story