"Pathetic Service"

About: Croydon University Hospital

Anything else?

My mother was admitted in Queens 1 from 26th for the fracture of her leg. The doctor booked an emergency CT scan on 26th May which did not happen till 1st of June. The explanation was that the CT dept decides the appt. Most of the staff were not helpful. They do not communicate with each other or with the doctors or with other departments. Answer for everything is "I don't know" and are not bothered at all. The only thing they do promptly is pressure check, diabetic check and filling the record. When the patient ask for something the responses is always "I am busy and I will come back " which never happens. I have never seen such a disorganised, mismanged and unhelpful ward. My mother felt very uncomfortable and unnecessarily stressed. They never help the older people even to go to the toilet. They go by themselves and when they sit down in the toilet thay can not get up. They rise the bell and scream for help for more than 30 mts in some cases. The nurses don't care until somebody stand in front of them and say this is happening (then they can not ignore). At the end ,on Tuesday 4th June I had a call from the hospital that they are discharging my mother on Wednesday. On Wednesday my mother waited from the morning to 9.pm in the evening for the transport to arrive. Every time they told me within 40 mts, within 30 mts, within 20 mts etc. At 9pm they are telling me they can not do that and it will be on Thursday. It is an absolute disgrace that these things are allowed to happen in a hospital. But I have to say that some of the staff are really good (but too many of them are inefficient and not help ful at all) and physio and the care team helped very well. Never thought K hospitals could go this bad.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Croydon University Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are very sorry that your mother had such a poor experience while she was with us. We are very concerned by the issues that you have raised about the care of elderly patients on the ward; we have high expectations of the level of care and dignity that our staff should show the people in our care. If these are not being delivered then this is clearly not acceptable. We have escalated your comments up to our Associate Director of Nursing to look into. As you have raised a number of issues, we would like to have the opportunity to investigate all of the aspects of your mother’s care that you mention thoroughly and rigorously. Please can you contact our PALS team on 020 8401 3210 or by email at TalkToUs@croydonhealth.nhs.uk. They can take the full details of your mother’s situation, we can arrange for you to speak to someone in detail about her experience with us and we will investigate fully.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story