"Neurology Department"

About: Sir Robert Peel Hospital

Anything else?

I first visited Robert Peel Neurology Dept in January. I was kept waiting 40 minutes. Although the neurologist was thorough they made me feel stupid as I could not perform some of the neurological tests quickly enough. They also told me that a diagnosis that I had had from 5 doctors at another hospital was incorrect - even though I had not gone to see them with that condition nor asked their opinion as to whether it was right. I was sent for blood tests and a brain MRI which apparently did not help them reach a diagnosis. It took 3 months for my doctor to get a report on this visit. I went back to see them in April. This time I was kept waiting an hour, particularly annoying as the hospital had started charging for parking, even handicapped are charged now. The neurologist said they would send me for MRI of my spine. That was April, it is now June and I am still waiting for an MRI appointment. My doctor had a report to say they had referred me in April - my GP got that letter in late May. It is now 6 months and I am no nearer to getting a diagnosis or any treatment, I have phoned their secretary twice a week for the last 5 weeks and left messages without any reply and also spoken to admin who promised to phone back the same day......I am still waiting for that to. In desperation I phoned Burton MRI to see if they had received a referral for me (I did not know where I had been referred but presumed it would be Burton or Good Hope). They had received a referral but the neurologist had not filled the form in correctly and they were unsure as to how much of my spine they had to scan. They had also been trying for 4 weeks to get hold of them or their secretary and had received the same answerphone message as me. They had finally posted it back to them to correct and return on 21st May but no reply had been received as yet. I only went to this hospital in the first place because it was the only one with free parking and now they charge more than the council does. I will NOT be going back there as the service is non-existent and I wasted 6 months and still do not have a diagnosis and will now have to start the whole process again with another hospital. Thank goodness its not life-threatening! (I hope!)

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sir Robert Peel Hospital

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience and would like to look into this for you. Burton Hospitals are committed to providing an excellent patient experience and if this falls below standard we need to understand why this has happened. Please can you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on pals@burtonft.nhs.uk provide further details of your case. This will enable an investigation to be carried out and will help us to improve the patient experience provided in the future. Anna Winyard Business Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

Recently read