"Treatment in A&E is not acceptable"

About: Lister Hospital

Anything else?

My Mother, in her late 70's has had 2 falls in the last 6months. The first one she had a deep cut to her cheek and due to a drug she is on, bleeds profusely. We sat in A&E for hours, my Mother bleeding badly. I asked numerous times for sterile gauze as the bleeding would not stop & not once did a Nurse provide us with any. Eventually my elderly Father had to go and buy tissues to hold over the wound. We eventually saw a Doctor who said the wound just needed a dressing. I could not believe what he had said, as an ex Nurse I knew it needed suturing. A Nurse practioner agreed with me and the Plastics Registrar eventually saw my Mother and the wound was stitched internally and externally. Nine hours we sat at the Hospital, very little of that time was spent being treated, just sitting in the waiting area, bleeding heavily. When I explained to a member of staff that my Mother was bleeding badly I was told that I did not understand how a Hospital ran and they were busy so what did I expect them to do. Three weeks ago she fell again. She had a cut above her eye, bruised and swollen around the eye, swollen and bruised hand and fingers, bruising and pain to the ribs and a bruised and swollen knee. This time we were there for 7 hours, most of that left sitting in the waiting area, not receiving treatment. My Mother had a stroke 18months ago and is on a number of tablets for hypertension, her blood pressure was very high when she was triaged, having given the triage Nurse all the information, my Mother's blood pressure was not monitored. When I asked for some analgesia for her the Nurse handed me 2 paracetamol and told me to remember the time so that when my Mother was seen I could tell the Doctor and he could write it in her notes. I was a Nurse for 30 years and I would be ashamed to call myself a Nurse with the lack of care and failure to follow proceedures that I experienced on both visits. Lister Hospital had high standards in the past and Nursing care was excellent. Now there is no care, compassion or standards being maintained and that is due to poor leadership from senior staff and management, and a total lack of pride in the job that these staff are meant to be doing.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

We're very sorry that your family's experience of the Lister's A&E department was not good. If you have not made a formal complaint already, then both of these events sound very much like they need to be investigated thoroughly. Please can you email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net so that such an investigation commence.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story