"Six day stay"

About: King's Mill Hospital

Anything else?

Unfortunately had to go to the assessment ward again, this place is awful, nearly all frail old people needing extra care, the staff appear to be spread around so thinly they just can not respond to patients needs quickly. The staff really do try hard but appear to be juggling lots of things at once.

Ward 42, in a room along way from everyone else! No tv as it kept freezing, constantly asking for cold water, jugs of warm water not conducive to my health. The new menu reads fantastic the reality is very very grim. Struggled to eat at all.shower leaked into bedroom. And was far reaching, staff know about the blocked shower drains! Disgusting.

The nursing assistant was absolutely brilliant, nothing too much trouble for them. They will try to resolve any issues or questions you have, they are motivated and conscientious and kings mill need more like them, although they,d only worked there a while they had the confidence and people skills of someone who had done the jobs for years, well done.

Please give patience the opportunity to get cold water, not warm tap water!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from King's Mill Hospital

Thank you for your feedback which will be circulated to the services you have identified. We are sorry that there are some aspects of your stay that you were unhappy with and would be happy to discuss this further if required (please contact the Patient Advice team on 01623 672222, 8.30am-5.00pm weekdays, they would be happy to talk through your concerns).

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story