"Don't really understand the point of this system."

About: Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS)

(as the patient),

Was disappointed that after ringing for an appointment, to then be told I have to wait and get an appointment from the hospital.

So I don't really understand the point of this system.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Handy, TRAQS & CAB Co-Ordinator, Telford and Wrekin CCG

Thank you providing feedback to the TRAQS team.

I am sorry that you feel let down by the system.

TRAQS has been developed to ensure that patients are offered a Choice of Provider. Unfortunately we are not always able to book an appointment at the hospital a patient wishes to be seen at due to capacity issues and a lack of appointments. I believe that is what happened with the hospital you chose to attend. If this is the case we send patients details electronically to the hospital and the hospital contact the patient in due course when they're able to offer a date to attend. Unfortunately as TRAQS do not have any control over the waiting times for these clinics we are unable to advise how long a patient will be waiting for an appointment.

We always offer patients the first available appointment, and a high number of patients do choose to travel for an earlier appointment However, we realise that this is not always an option and many patients may have no option but to wait for an appointment at a local hospital.

I hope that the hospital you have chosen to attend contacts you shortly to arrange an appointment for you to be seen but if in the meantime you feel that your condition is worsening please contact your GP practice and let your GP know.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us feedback.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story