About: Burnley General Hospital

Anything else?

As if having an operation isn't stressful enough but the waiting list is so long I can't be given a date. Will be at least 4 months. No consideration for the patients. No involvement in the treatment and you aren't listened to when you raise concerns. Avoid at all costs. I am not sure which department to choose as the eye clinic isn't listed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Burnley General Hospital

As the Business Manager for the Ophthalmology department can I first of all stress my regret that you have had an experience of our service which has fallen short of your expectations. Whilst it is disappointing to read that you have not felt that you have received the level of care that you expect, we are grateful for the feedback and always wish to use such experiences as an opportunity to learn as to how we can improve our services for all patients.

Whilst we cannot comment on the specifics of your care in this response due to the absence of any patient specific information and in the interests of patient confidentiality, we would like the opportunity to look in to the issues you have identified in your posting and would encourage you to make contact with our Complaints and Litigations department in writing or over the telephone so that this can be investigated on your behalf:

Complaints and Litigation Department

Governance Unit

Park View Offices

Royal Blackburn Hospital

Haslingden Road



Tel: 01254 733700

Kind Regards

Leigh Hudson

Business Manager to Head and Neck/ Ophthalmology Directorate

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story