"Neuro outpatients scan fail"

About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital / Neurosurgery

(as the patient),

I attended a follow up OPD appointment today having had surgical intervention in October Last year.

I met with Mr Zygmunt and a consultant radiologist (who didn't introduce himself). I was asked if I had had a scan on which they could base my review. When I said no I was asked if I had "DNA'd" when I hadn't been sent an appointment.

The upshot was that as I hadn't had a scan I couldn't be reviewed, so my time was wasted and so was the time of the consultants. I'm disappointed that something that is routine and expected hadn't been organised for me, that my time and money (petrol & parking) was wasted and I was accused of failing to attend an appointment.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience.

We are really sorry to hear that there were aspects of your experience that did not meet the high standards of care that we aim to provide. The Head of Department apologises that you were sent a clinic appointment when you had not yet had your scan. The usual process is that a clinic appointment should be sent out once you have had your scan and the results would be available to be reviewed in clinic. It appears that on this occasion this is not what happened and this resulted in a wasted journey for you. We are very sorry for this and the frustration it must have caused.

We are also very sorry that you were asked if you had not attended for your scan appointment, unfortunately some patients don’t turn up for an appointment. This question was not intended to cause offence; we are sorry if it added to your distress.

We are hopeful that you will now have been offered an appointment for your scan; please let us know if this is not the case, or if you have any ongoing concerns. You can do this either by asking to speak to the MRI/Neuroradiology Head of Department via 0121 627 2000 or by contacting the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS).

You can contact PALS by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website http://www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form.htm or in person by dropping in between 9am – 4.30pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located to the left of the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

Thank you again for taking the trouble to post your comments on the Patient Opinion website.

Update posted by ResusRobin (the patient)

Thank you for your response. I have now had my scan and I will write a separate story about that experience.

It would have been nice for you name the head of department in your response so that I knew who to contact. There is a culture in UHB of staff not wanting to be named / introducing themselves. This has occurred on every visit I have made.

Response from University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for updating us, we are really pleased that you have now had your scan. We are sorry for the delay in responding to your further comments.

We don't routinely put staff members names on external websites for a variety of reasons. However, all staff are aware that they are expected to give their names when asked, and to also display their name badges prominently.

We are really sorry if this has not been your experience, we will continue to reinforce this message at every opportunity.

Thank you again for taking the trouble to post your feedback

Updates, changes and questions related to this story