"Having a baby at Rotherham"

About: Rotherham Hospital / Maternity care

(as the patient),

We recently had our little boy at Rotherham General Hospital. The hospital staff were all excellent.

In the delivery suite we had a (student) midwife co-ordinating our care who listened to us and was very attentive all the way through. In the end we needed a forceps delivery which was carried out swiftly by the theatre team.

On the labour ward buzzers were always answered within 1 minute and by someone who could help (rather than pass the task to someone else). Staff were as supportive at 3am as they were at 3pm in the afternoon. Staff made every effort to support us with breast feeding (although baby was unable to every once we returned home).

Unfortunately there was very heavy snow the day we went into labour. This meant that the labour ward was short staffed, and another lady needed emergency care before us. For those reasons we had to wait several hours for our treatment choice of an epidural after the pain became uncontrolled. However this just highlights how important it is for the hospital to be well staffed and what an important job they do.

With everything happening so fast on the day there wasn't opportunity to thank everyone properly. I would like to extend my thanks to all of the Nursing and Midwifery team that looked after us during our labour and after care on the ward.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kerry Hollingworth, Corporate Affairs Officer, The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Marchbaby,

Thank you for your posting on Patient Opinion, it is good to hear that you had such a positive experience with our staff both during your labour and after.

Your thanks and comments have been passed on to the Nursing and Midwifery team.

We are sorry to hear that the circumstances on the day meant you had a wait of several hours for your treatment of choice and we absolutely agree that safe staffing levels are a priority at all times. We recognise that staffing levels can be affected in the event of extreme weather and so when we have inclement weather, the Trust puts in to operation our contingency plan to maximise staff attendance and transportation of patients when required. Our staff are committed and make every effort to get to work. We also provide 4x4 transport and accommodation to staff to optimise staffing levels in times of need, in addition to temporary suspension of non-essential services.

Thank you again for your kind comments and feedback,

Best wishes,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story