"Felt very lonely and lost as I was not introduced to anyone"

About: Rotherham, Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust / Addiction services

(as the patient),

When being invited to the women's group at Clearways by my alcohol nurse I attended thinking this would be great, as I live quite an isolated life and thought the company of others would do me good.

When I arrived I was let in an not greeted by any of the receptionists who were too busy chatting to each other. It must then have been at least 10/15 minutes before I was kindly asked if I would like a drink. I sat with my drink but felt very lonely and lost as I was not introduced to anyone.

Needless to say, I haven't been since. I was expecting a nice warm reception and some good company but unfortunately didn't experience these things.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nick Arkle, Patient Engagement/ Psychosocial Interventions Lead, Rotherham Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Echo637,

Thank you for posting your experience as we value feedback.

I am very sorry to hear that your experience at Clearways was not as you had expected.

As a Trust we acknowledge the importance of being made to feel welcome when coming to a service.

I shall forward your posting to the appropriate manager so that they are made aware of what you have written.

I would suggest discussing your experience with your alcohol nurse. If you prefer you can contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 015 4334; pals@rdash.nhs.uk; or PALS, Park Lodge, St Catherine's, Tickhill Road, Balby, Doncaster. DN4 8QN.

I hope that your recovery journey continues and your goals are achieved.



  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story