"Mother And Father"

About: Wansbeck Hospital

Anything else?

Both my mother and father were admitted and are still in hospital. However the little things are becoming annoying for example insufficient wheelchairs. I was told by a nurse on my mothers ward that if I want a wheelchair then I'd have to go find one myself due to a shift change over. There was no shift change over as the nurses were in fact going for a tea break as I saw them in the cafe area myself. My sister asked where my mothers walking sticks were as she has trouble with her hip and was apparently stuck in the ward toilet in pain wanting to come out. The nurse informed my sister they'd been beside the nursing station all day! she is the only person that we are aware of with walking sticks on that ward. The first two days of being in hospital the staff had failed to read the notes to ensure my mother was not suffering undue stress with pain, need I say it they failed to give her pain relief!

My sister has twice had phone calls regarding my father being ready to leave hospital and she has made arrangements with a care home. However when she has gone in to the hospital the nurses there have said there is nothing written up for him to be discharged. Arrangements were also made for the care manager of the home to attend so her time was wasted. She asked several days ago if some one could cut his toe nails as they have grown quite long and must be hurting when he wears his shoes. This would have been done except due to becoming ill had to be admitted to hospital. My sister feels she is being ignored and being given short thrif.

What is going on here?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wansbeck Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your email. It must be a very stressful time for you with both your parents in hospital at the same time. I’m very sorry that the inconsistencies you have found in your parents care have added to this.

It is extremely important to us that our patients and visitors receive excellent care all round and I understand that often what you call the small things can become a problem. In fact we don’t feel that any issue that a patient or visitor has is small – everything has an impact on your experience of our care.

It is very difficult to rectify this while you remain anonymous and we don’t have your parents’ details to know which ward(s) they are on. I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly so I can talk to staff on the ward(s) to rectify these issues for you as soon as possible. You can contact me at annie.laverty@northumbria.nhs.uk.

Kind regards


Annie Laverty, Director of Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story