"Oh I wish I could afford to go private!"

About: St Helier Hospital

Anything else?

This hospital may be fine and even get high ratings from low risk perfect pregnancies. But as a pregnant woman who is obese, I can say the care and attention given by this hospital is nothing short of discraceful! Obese pregnant woman are given no choices and treated like dirt by the majority of the staff. From day one I was told that because I'm large I won't be allowed to use the birthing suite or pools. Instantly removing everything that can help make labour less stressful and more productive. I have found that the negatives of having a high BMI have been concentrated on more than anything else. At every appointment you have it drilled into you that you may have a still birth or need assustance in the delivery. At no point are you told that this is purely a statistic thing and not necessarily something that will happen to you with a high BMI. Added to these points I have had countless amounts of bloods go missing and my glucose tol test went missing twice! Each time I went for bloods I came out feeling like a pin cushion with several puncture wounds with large bruised patches. Trying to make appointments is really difficult. If your lucky enough to get through to appointments chances are you'll be abruptly asked for your details before finally making your appointment. However, 90% of the times I have called I get an answer phone. I leave messages and never get a call back!! Which means I either have to wait twice as long for an appointment or have to wait until I'm in the hospital to make an appointment. At which point one receptionist I have encountered twice, not only is very sloppy with admin skills but also very rude. She once started to attend a woman who pushed in front of me before me, when I mentioned I was next I was rudely told I wasn't and that this lady was!! In December I got married and my name changed, this same receptionist was the person I informed of my name change. She assured me she had updated my records accordingly. The next time I had bloods done, they lost my results as they were processed under a different name. Twice after this she was asked to complete the merge of the two files on the system, but today it would appear I still have two files on their system which are not linked!! So she hadn't completed the merge at all!

Whilst on today's visit, I have opted for a home birth, but was rudely told that due to my weight it wasn't recommended. I informed her that I was fully aware tof the risks but as I have had no issues through my pregnancy my husband and I felt I would have a better labour at home. As soon as I mentioned this she argued with me about blood pressure which by now was sky high! She for we me to stay at the hospital for tests in the MAU unit where they told me there was nothing wrong with me! Everything was normal as it has been throughout my whole pregnancy. Even my scans left me bruised and in pain for days!

Avoid if possible

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Helier Hospital

Thank you for your response and we are sorry to hear your experience of St Helier has been disappointing for you. Our midwifery staff will be dismayed to hear you feel you have been treated poorly as an obese pregnant woman. If you were told the birthing pool was not an option for you, this would be due to a medical and safety reason - the reasons for focusing on a high BMI is you and your baby's safety. As to having blood and glucouse samples go missing - this is not acceptable neither is the rudeness you have experienced from front desk staff. We shall ensure the maternity units are made aware of your feedback. Pippa Hart Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story