"some short comings!!"

About: Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital (Welwyn Garden City)

Anything else?

I was impressed with the care from some of the nurses however I had to give the same information several times to sevarl different memebres of staff as it was never communicated. This involved social set up and basic nursing needs.

I was unhappy with attention to meal provision, despite bringing in food and drinks none of this was ever opened for a patient with dementia who would not instigate this herself yet when I visited drank 400mls of lemonade and ate several chocolates and cakes withinn minutes - this had been communicated to ward staff.

Discharge procedure wasa also poor, despite daily being informed that it would be necessary to give 24 hrs notice for a restart of qds care package and time for family to arrange food, heating etc - a phonecall was revceived from the ward pharmacist (to the wrong contact person, not nok) informing of imminent discharge.

*No option for mau on drop down for departments on section 4*

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth I I Hospital

We're very sorry that this was your experience - much of what you describe is not to the standard we expect care to be provided to on our wards. We do note that the service in question was the QEII's MAU service and we feel that there would be huge value if you were willing to talk with the team's leadership so that they understand your concerns and experience so that they can look at what happened and why. If you would be happy to do this, then just email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net and we'll take it from there.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story