"Prescription enquiry"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

Doctor had prescribed an item for a patient - handwriting was illegible

Contacted switchboard whom were very helpful although no-one picks up phone when transferred to the ophthalmology department. Tried several times but the same issue, had the phone put down on more than one occasion which is rude and very unprofessional. I even attempted to contact the department the following day but no answer/no response - in the end had to write dosage as per in the BNF.

This is a enquiry revolving around ensuring the patient receives the correct dose which should be the departments primary concern.

I am very dissatisfied and hope you improve your service in order to become more accessible and ensure patient safety is kept to a high standard.

To be blunt it's a disgrace and risking the integrity of all medical profession and the NHS. Please provide handwriting lessons to some of you colleague.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Thankyou for your comments and please accept my apologies for your experience. It would be very helpful to know which number you were calling to contact the Ophthalmology Department. I could then follow up with the individuals concerned. It is not acceptable to put the phone down or not deal with phone calls and I apologise for this unreservedly. I trust the prescription issue was resolved satisfactorily and I will bring this matter to the attention of Mrs Burns, Head of Service. If you would like to contact me with the number you were trying to call, I will ensure this issue is taken up with the necessary group of staff. Kind regards Dale Travis CBU Manager dale.travis@uhl-tr.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story