"lack of cleanliness"

About: St Peter's Hospital (Chertsey)

Anything else?

The staff were all absolutely wonderful and the medical care fabulous but the standard of cleanliness in paediatric A&E and on Oak ward was not good. The bed frames were dirty and needed a proper wash, the chairs were grubby, the floors were not washed properly and actually looked dirty and when I wiped the chair with a baby wipe the baby wipe came away grey. I cannot imagine the rest of the furniture was any cleaner.

I did see the nurses washing the mattress between the patients but no-one cleaned the bed frames

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Peter's Hospital

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the care and treatment provided by our staff, but also concerned about the issues you raise around cleanliness.

We would like to reassure you and others that this is not our usual standard and we apologise that you experienced this.

Our housekeeping team do follow strict cleaning procedures and rotas to ensure that all areas are kept to a high standard, but this was clearly not your experience and we will pass your feedback on and ask them to pay greater attention in the areas you mention.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. If you have anything else to add or would like to discuss your experience in more detail please contact our Patient Experience Team on 01932 722612.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story