"Waiting time in paediatric A&E"

About: Royal Gwent Hospital / Accident & Emergency

(as a parent/guardian),

My son had badly gashed his head on our last morning at a local hotel. We were seen by a nurse quite soon after arriving and were told he needed to see a doctor. The nurse said there had been no doctors available that morning. We then waited for nearly four hours in which time I only saw children being called out to see doctors once.

When I queried whether it was likely to be quicker for me to drive back to my local London hospital, I was told "probably". When a member of staff went to find a nurse, she came back to say there were no nurses in the department either. So this was a children's A&E apparently with neither doctors nor nurses.

It felt like we would of all have got more attention sitting at home. Why were our taxes paying for a department with no staff? When I began to kick up a fuss, miraculously both a nurse and then a doctor appeared.

It appears that at this hospital unless you are stroppy and eloquent enough to make a fuss, children will be left unattended. The doctor and the nurses who finally stitched up my son were lovely but sick/injured children shouldn't be left without medical care.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julian Hayman, Internal Communications Manager, Communications, Aneurin Bevan Health Board

Aneurin Bevan Health Board is concerned to hear about the issues that you have raised regarding your recent experience in the A & E Department at the Royal Gwent Hospital. I would like to convey our apologies for the level of support and information that you received. We value all feedback received and would like to discuss your experience with you to see if we can offer any help to you and also to find out further information in order to avoid any repeat occurrences with other patients in the future.

If you could email me with your contact details and further information regarding the date and time of your attendance at the A & E Department, I will pass your complaint on to one of our Putting Things Right Team, who will contact you to discuss your concerns.

Please email: sharon.harford@wales.nhs.uk, or alternatively you may prefer to email the Putting Things Right Team directly: puttingthingsright.ABHB@wales.nhs.uk

Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by Dannymoo (a parent/guardian)

I thought it might be interesting for people to know that although I had a response to my story re Royal Gwent A&E, asking for the details so it could be investigated, having sent the details, four months later I have had no response/explanation

Response from Julian Hayman, Internal Communications Manager, Communications, Aneurin Bevan Health Board

Hello Dannymoo, I am concerned that you have not received a response to your complaint. Please can you email me - sharon.harford@wales.nhs.uk, with your name and contact details, so that I can follow this up with our Putting Things Right Team.



  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful