About: Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital

Anything else?

Absolutely horrendious week spent in various wards following A&E admission - bad communication, staffing and treatment.

Maintenance bad ( I was injured ) broken toilets ,lights, taps.

I was made to feel like an unwelcome nuisance, given contradictorary information and belittled.

I was shouted at, made out to be unentitled to ask questions. I couldn't take any more and was reduced to tears in discharge. I now dissolve into tears as soon as I think of it and am having nightmares about being bullied.

I honestly feel on the edge of a breakdown and am terrified of my next appointment.

No longer want to leave my house ever!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julie Pearce, Chief Nurse + Director of Quality + Operations, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust We are preparing to make a change

Thank you for feeding back, and I am sorry that you have had a poor experience. Please do let me know more details so that we can follow this through for you.

I realise that this does not negate your poor experience, however, the hospital has been extremely busy with many more patients coming through A&E than expected. The hospital has activated its internal major incident plan as we have been trying to care for too many patients than we consider to be safe. I am pleased to say that we are gradually getting on top of the problem and so I hope that pressure on staff is gradually subsiding.

Please do contact me via email and I will ensure that we have a conversation to reassure you about the service we would normally provide, my email address is Julie.pearce1@nhs.net The behaviours of staff you outlined are not what we would expect.

I do hope that you continue to recover.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital

We are so sorry to hear of your experience. If possible we would like to help you and discuss your concerns and the problems you experienced to hopefully be able to give you some confidence in our service should you need to return. Your comments will be noted, but we cannot be specific as we do not know the areas that you were treated. If you feel able then please contact the Patient Experience Team at

ekh-tr.patientexperienceteam@nhs.net and leave your number and they will contact you to discuss your concerns and the best way forward. It would be helfpul if you could advise that you have contacted us as a result of feedback from NHS Choices. We hope that you feel able to contact us.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story