"Friends Day Ward - Appalling"

About: Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital

Anything else?

I would like to express my sincere disgust at the service provided on this outpatients ward. The nurses in particular are incredibly unprofessional. Not only is their administration way behind, but their ability to do nursing tasks (e.g. cannulate) are ridiculously below standard. On top of this, they do not listen to your views of your own medical treatment (we have been receiving the same treatment every 2 months for the last 3 years!). They are headstrong in their opinions on treatment actions, and do not admit when they were wrong (even after we have been proved right on many occasion). The current course of action they are insisting on is not in our best interest and at the end of the day that is what they are there for. I am so annoyed by the way we have been treated on the Friends Day ward at QEQM that I am writing this review in hope to inform other patients. If you have any choice, we suggest that you avoid any treatment offered on this ward.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julie Pearce, Chief Nurse + Director of Quality + Operations, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for providing us with feedback and I am sorry that you were not happy with the service. Normally the ambulatory care service is evaluated highly.

I will copy your feedback to the Matron responsible for the area and we will feedback to staff. Please let me know if you are going to be regularly attending the unit, and if so It may be useful to meet with Matron beforehand so that we can ensure your next visit runs smoothly.

Please do contact me via email Julie.pearce1@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital

We disappointed to hear of the problems that you have experienced when you have visited the Friends Day Unit. It is important that we listen to the views of our patients and would like to discuss your concerns further if possible, with you. If you feel able then please contact the Patient Experience Team at

ekh-tr.patientexperienceteam@nhs.net and if you can provide your number someone from the Patient Experience Team will call you back to discuss the best way forward with regard to your feedback and your care in the future. In the meantime your feedback will be logged onto our database and also fedback to the Matron for the Ward and to the Division under whose remit the ward falls to ensure that staff are fully aware and your comments can be used to improve services. We would like to offer our apologies with regard to your experience when you visited and hope that you feel able to contact us.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story