"Poor treatment"

About: St Helier Hospital

Anything else?

after admission to hospital on friday morning 01;30 from epsom hospital because of a boil errupted nothing to do with why she was admitted in first place ,a small dressing put over open burst boil at epsom no problem...sunday i complained as i noticed it leaking thru her nightclothes ,to get some one to look took an age,when they finaly checked the little boil had changed to a hole the size of a 50p and was in fact a fistula to her colon and weeping feaces a stoma bag was attached then ignored until i found out on tuesday and made them examin it ,today is wednesday and still not cleaned but still ignored .the room she is in is not clean ,they dont assist feeding ,as she shakes badly and cant feed herself,she has put up with being manhandled by a nurse on her own who dragged her up off a chair and could nt hold her my husband had to grap my mum so she did not fall,as she was slipping off the bed .

the nurse had no respect for my mums dignity as she threw her over to clean her up as she soiled herself when being yanked,my mum was face down on bed sobbing but the nurse didnt care,

mum hasnt eaten a meal since coming in to hospital a feeding tube was meant to be inserted on tuesday not happend,i got there today mum in a new dirty room no drink or anything so thirsty this is not acceptable

the staff did not seem to care when i asked about her care ,later this evening a night nurse on her ward accused me of swearing at her when in fact i told of a bed sore nurse asked if it was open i replied yes its a bloody sore, meaning its a bloody sore ie bleeding,if that is taken as offensive as she made out maybe they need more understanding of the english language and medical terms im not rascist but a high level of understanding of a language is a must in this line of work.

my mum is on mary moore ward now she has been in amu until today i am utterly disgusted and frustrated as she is being ignored and as far as i see it she is suffering needlessly ,i will be contacting P A L S and C Q C about this before it becomes anymore serious

mind you im sure this too will be ignored like most in this list

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Helier Hospital

Thank you for your feedback - please be assured this will not be ignored. We do take all our feedback - both good and bad -very seriously indeed. Firstly can I say how sorry I am that you have found our nursing care to be so inadequate. This is clearly an incident we need to further investigate. Can you please contact our patient advice and liaison team (PALS) on 020 8296 2508 if you haven't already or email pals@esth.nhs.uk. Further information is available on our website at www.epsom-sthelier.nhs.uk/pals. Pippa Hart Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story