"Mis-managed appointments at Physio department"

About: Derriford Hospital

(as the patient),

As a patient, absolutly appauled. I felt i was treated by reception as a third class citizen. On three occasions my appointments were mis-managed. On the third occasion I was on the bus and I expected there to be another problem so here is the story:

1. My first appointment in September 2012 i arrived at my Physio at 11. 10 for an 11. 20 appointment. I was kept waiting for 10 mins plus 5 minutes. The Physio said the appoinment has been cancelled... not true.

2. My second appointment in September 2012 arrived at 11. 50 for an appointment at 12. 00. .. Informed then that the physio is out sick. Nobody informed me by phone and another wasted day and bus fare.

3. My third appointment in September 2012 arrived at 11. 30 for an 11. 40 appointment. I was then told that the appointment was at 11. 20. This was incorrect, I then showed them the appointment card for 11.40. So really its a complete waste of my time.

Funny how you have a sign about patients wasting your time in the waiting room.

In my opinion you need efficient and polite reception staff and perhaps new management in this area.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Mary Anderson, Senior Quality Facilitator, Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Dear Crafty 113

I am sorry that you have experienced problems with your physiotherapy appointments and that there have been occasions when you have not been informed that a member of staff was absent and therefore your appointment could not go ahead.

Please be assured that I will take forward your points with the Clinical Support Services Directorate. If you are able to provide me with any other details, please do not hesitate to contact me on 01752 439751.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story