"Awful experience, extremely unprofessional"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

Anything else?

I recently had to go to the womens unit, gynaecology for treatment.

My doctor wasn't on shift but they hadnt replaced him which the nurse openly told me so

I had to wait for over 90 minutes for them to find a doctor for the clinic.

I wasn't talked through the process or asked to sign anything, I was treated like I was in the way and they just wanted me in and out.

I had the procedure done then was told to get ready and go and they would contact me within 4 weeks, I was appalled by the complete lack of care or professionalism at this hospital. I left very upset and after 6 weeks of worrying I contacted my doctors and got them to chase up my results. After numerous different answers from the staff on this unit I was told i needed treatment. I'm obviously currently in the process of being referred to another hospital where I will get the care and attention I deserve.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment on what I can see was an unacceptable experience. I am saddened that you have felt the need to be referred to another hospital for your treatment I would welcome the opportunity to disucss your experieince further and then the issues can be fed directly back to those invoved and hopefully no one else will experieicne what you have. Please will you contact my staff so we can investigate, please use the reference Anon 6/4/13 and either email pcs@stockport.nhs.uk or telephone my team on 061 419 5678.

With regards

Cath Marsland Head of Risk and Customer Services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story