"elderly care in peterborough"

About: Edith Cavell Hospital / Older people's healthcare Peterborough District Hospital Stamford & Rutland Hospital

(as a relative),

Just under 3 years ago, my father who was 89 years of age was taken to Peterborough District Hospital by ambulance, being sent by his GP. I went by car to be with him. on arrival we waited to be called to a bed for assessment. A nurse took his notes from me and after a while the same nurse came and asked me for his notes. when I told her I had already given them to her she went in search of his mislaid notes. after a further wait he had a blood test, we then wait for the results.

Some time later they came to take a blood test again so I enquired was there a problem and was informed that the bloods had got mixed up so would have to be taken again. Eventually he was put in a bed for the night while waiting for a bed to become available on a ward. A nurse took us to the bed and told us a named nurse would be with us soon to look after my Dad. Later this nurse appeared only to tell us she was supposed to be looking after him but she had now finished her shift and the night shift will look after him. later while still waiting for this to happen my dad needed a bottle quite desperately, so I went in search of a nurse but as I couldn't find one I went back to the assessment dept. next door to ask for a bottle and then returned to my dad only to find that he was unable to wait and his bed was now wet.

After this a nurse had appeared and was on the phone, when she came off the phone I informed her of my dad's miss-hap to be asked his name and which bed he was in and then she said oh at last a name for bed 6. By this time I Was Really horrified and frightened to leave him in this hospital but he wasn't well enough to take home so had no choice. Luckily (so I thought) he was moved to Edith Cavell Hospital the next day but things never really improved as the ward was full and there just wasn't enough nurses to cope with everything and it stayed this way till he was moved to Van Geest at Stamford which was an improvement but unfortunately he passed away a few days later. I am now fearful for any one needing nursing in hospital as there just wasn't enough qualified nursing staff to cope. I must add that the few nurses on duty did a brilliant job under the circumstances of having to be six people at the same time without becoming a nervous wreck. It still makes me suffer at the thought of this awful experience.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lesley Crosby, Deputy Chief Nurse, Peterborough and Stamford Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust We have made a change

Thank you for your comments and I am so sorry that you had such a poor experience some 3 years ago. I would like to reassure you that since that time we have now moved to Peterborough City Hospital which has provided our patients with state of the art facilities. We have also reviewed our patient pathways and have streamlined many to ensure that the problems that you have referred to have been minimised or prevented altogether.

Since our move I am pleased to say that we have reviewed our nursing establishment and have increased the number of qualified nurses.

Once again I am sorry for the problems that you experienced but hope that should you or your father have to attend the hospital in the future you will have a more positive experience. I would also like to urge you to speak to our staff in the Patient Advice and Liaison Service at the time if you did have any more problems as I am sure they would have been able to have helped you.

I hope that this response does give you some reassurance.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story