"Hospital Feedback"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

Having seen a doctor the week previous who was very helpful and prescribed steroid drops for an eye condition I had had for almost six months (despite severl visits to my own general practice and Optometrist). I waited nearly 2 hours to see a doctor (not the same doctor as the week previous). The doctor I saw skimmed over my notes and asked how the drops I had been prescribed the week previous. Although the soreness and swelling had gone down, I was still suffering with watery eyes which I have had for around 6 months. I was told that I didn't blink enough and should be referred to the Eye Clinic via my GP and that the Eye Casualty was really only for emergency cases! I explained that my Optometrist had sent a letter of referral to the eye clinic on 30 January as an urgent appointment and that I was still on the waiting list for an appointment. I had come to the Eye Casualty the previous week on the advice of the lady I spoke to over the phone on Reception after explaining that I had discomfort in my eyes for several months and was getting desperate.

It was obvious to me that the female doctor I saw had had a busy day and was probably tired. However, I did leave the hospital feeling that I had just been an inconvenience to her and that I really shouldn't have troubled her!

I am typing this review with my eyes still watering (despite making the effort to blink more!!) and not really sure what I should do next..... Just wait for the appointment from the Eye Clinic to come through?

I feel that the appointment I had yesterday was a complete waste of time and the doctor I saw was very unhelpful to the point of making me feel guilty about attending the Eye Casualty Department!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary


Please accept our apologies for the experience you have described which is below the standard we would expect of our staff. It is difficult for us to resolve your concerns without more details, so we would be happy if you contact us on the following e mail Georgina.Kenney@uhl-tr.nhs.uk in order for us to follow up your comments.

Many thanks


Lead Nurse

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful