"A very upsetting experience"

About: The Royal Victoria Infirmary

Anything else?

I gave birth to my daughter on 01/11/2011 and the delivery staff were amazing, but it all went down hill after then. I arrived on the ward at 7am after a 29 hour labour, the extremely rude cleaner arrived at 8am and insisted on opening all the curtains, despite repeated asking for pain relief it was forgotten about several times for 6 hours and the hospitals understanding of a gluten free diet was dangerous. I was told I was being discharged to go to another hospital in the morning but it took them until 8pm to process the paper work and then they got my daughters date of birth wrong by a full 11 months.

In contrast Hexham hospital was excellent, pain relief wasn't an issue and they corrected all my daughters paperwork.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Royal Victoria Infirmary

We are very disappointed to read your feedback on NHS Choices, and wish to apologise that the care provided did not match the level of service that we aim to provide at all times. It is not acceptable that you were not afforded the kindness and courtesy that you should expect. We must also apologise for the error in the documentation you received and for the delay in arranging your discharge. As the comments made on NHS Choices are anonymous we are unable to explore the specific issues you have raised but would welcome the opportunity to directly address your concerns. If you wish to take this opportunity, please contact us and we  can then investigate the matters raised. You can do this by contacting Chris Wilkinson – Directorate Manager or Elaine Blair - Head of Midwifery via 0191 2825666. We always aim to use these comments as valuable feedback which we can use to improve services and minimise the risk of these issues happening again.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful