"the only downside was the car parking"

About: New Cross Hospital / Cardiology

(as a relative),

Although we live in Telford we attended Wolverhampton Hospital. The doctors and staff were very friendly and caring. The only downside was the car parking. Long queues to park, otherwise a pleasant experience.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Handy, TRAQS & CAB Co-Ordinator, Telford and Wrekin CCG

Thank you for taking the time to give TRAQS some feedback following your recent referral.

We have noticed recently that quite a few patients are choosing to travel further for an earlier appointment. This is often because TRAQS are unable to offer an appointment at either PRH or RSH due to capacity issues which in turn means less local appointments are sometimes available. We are pleased that overall the experience of visiting New Cross for treatment was such a positive one.

We are sorry to hear that you had to queue for a parking space. Unfortunately car parking can be an issue at many hospitals particularly during the busiest time of the day, I.e visiting times.

Thank you again for your comments we really appreciate all feedback.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Jamie Emery, Patient Experience Lead, The Royal Wolverhampton Hospitals NHS Trust We are preparing to make a change

Dear Joint 26,

Just to add to Helen’s comments, thank you from us here at New Cross for taking the time and trouble to give us your feedback and also for your kind words about the clinical teams.

We were however really sorry to read about the queuing for parking. We have added around an additional 80 public parking spaces in the past 12 months, but we recognise that at peak times, the car parks remain under pressure and for that and other reasons associated with the development of the site, we are planning for the provision of a multi storey car park in 2013/14 to give around an additional 300 spaces. Hopefully you and other patients should not experience this in time to come.

Thanks again and best wishes,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful