"The majority of staff were kind, ..."

About: Gloucestershire Royal Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

The majority of staff were kind, friendly, reassuring and very patient.

They were fairly efficient, treated patients with dignity, respect and understanding

The beds were changed completely every day

The food was good and hot, very generous portions, plenty of choice

There were separate bays for men and women

What could be improved

The overall fabric of the ward (4a), draughty windows, not enough toilets

Not all staff use the handgel supplied at the bottom of each patients bed

Not all staff adhere to the policy, clearly written above each patients bed, of not sitting on patients beds

Toilets should be cleaned more than once a day

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gloucestershire Royal Hospital

Many thanks for your positive comments about the Trust staff that you met during your stay in hospital. We are glad to hear that you were treated well, with respect, dignity and understanding. Your comments about the hospital food have been passed to the catering staff who will be very pleased.

In answer to your comments about Ward 4a. The ward is part of a rolling programme which is underway to update all of the wards in this part of Gloucestershire Royal Hospital as the Trust recognises that they do need generally updating. However we have passed your comments about the windows in particular to the correct people in our Estates team.

Of more concern were your comments about handgel and staff sitting on beds, we would like to reassure all patients that the Trust takes its responsibility for controlling infection extremely seriously and your comments have been passed to the senior nurse in charge of the ward and to the senior Infection Control staff.

In relation to the cleaning of toilets, the strict regime is that ward toilets are cleaned thoroughly as early as possible in the morning. They are then checked and cleaned again early in the afternoon if required. In the early evening they are then thoroughly cleaned again. If this did not appear to be happening during your stay, then please accept our apologies. We would encourage any patient who is concerned about these kinds of things to please speak to the senior member of nursing staff about them.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read