"Great in parts; others disappointing"

About: Queen's Hospital, Burton Upon Trent

Anything else?

The pre-op for my double hernia was fine, although I did have to go through the whole process twice when I said I preferred the keyhole and patch-from-the-inside method. Treatment on the day was fine. My complaint is that for recovery I was parked in an area in the Burton clinis where there seemed very little concern for my status. I was eventually offered a cup of tea and a cheese sandwich. The sandwich was of very poor bread which stuck to the inside of the mouth and was near impossible to eat; what a shame. Attempts to attract attention to get a refill on the tea were ignored. I felt regarded as an inconvenience, to be got rid off at the earliest opportunity.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Hospital, Burton Upon Trent

Sandra Orton, Interim Associate Director, Surgery, responded: “I am sorry to read your comments about certain aspects of your care whilst you were staying in Burton Clinic.

“We would welcome the opportunity to look in detail at the way you were cared for. We are committed to providing the best possible services to all who come here and it is important that we listen to what our patients are saying in order to improve our standards of care and treatment.

“If you would like discuss this further please contact our PALS Adviser on 01283 593110 (voicemail for out of hours calls) or email: pals@burtonft.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful