"Still feeling sick"

About: Macclesfield District General Hospital

Anything else?

Sunday afternoon 3.00 pm. Been in pain for last couple of days and in need of antibiotics. Severe swelling in ear, face and neck. Cannot eat because of swelling in the jaw and not slept for two nights. Not to worry arrangements made by Primary Care to see a Doctor five hours later.

Arrived early (7.30 pm) for 7.50 pm appointment. A group of us walked through to the waiting area. 8.05 pm sat on my lonesome. Doctors clearly packing up and leaving. One walks into what looks like a general office and shortly afterwards a rude woman comes out. 'Have you got an appointment', yes at 7.50 pm. Whats your name? After telling her she doesn't acknowledge that I had spoken and disappears back into her office.

Sometime later a Doctor invites me into his office. After a brief inspection gives me the prescription I need, To get the prescription made up I am advised that I need to go to Waters Green (where my surgery is located) and in the center of Macclesfield where they remain open until 10.00 pm or so I am advised by him.

Not feeling at all well I set off walking.. Eventually arrived and yes it was closed.

A complete waste of time and money for taxis. Another painful and sleepless night to look forward too.. Tomorrow, Monday instead of going to Waters Green to see a Doctor for a prescription I will go to Waters Green with a prescription.

Would be interested to know why the appointment to see a Doctor had to be at a time when no pharmacies were open and 5 hours after my call.

What a Great National Health Service we have.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Macclesfield District General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this comment. I am sorry to read about the poor experience you had while attending your appointment at the Primary Care Centre. I was also disappointed to hear that you were given incorrect information regarding the opening hours of the Pharmacy at Waters Green. Unfortunately postings on the NHS Website are anonymous so I am unable to answer your specific questions regarding the length of time it took to get your appointment without a few more personal details so If you would like to discuss your experience in further detail, please contact the Customer Care Team on 01625 661449, who will be more than happy to assist you. Thank you

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful