"Maternity ward"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

Anything else?

I was wrongly advised I was not having contractions for a period or 4hrs in which I was in severe agony following being induced. 2mid wives mis diagnosed my systoms and forced meto have. Bath before they wol consider me having pain relief. After a crippling walk to the bath , all I must add for a tick box to get pain relief I found myself crippled in pain. I struggled back with my husband who at this point was pretty much carrying me in his arms. After a major bleed and my husband demanding a clinical examination the found me to be 5 / 6 cm gone. Why put me through all his pain when I was screaming for gas they declined. On reflection how can the taco graph tell them the story, ESP as th measurements did not Chang throughout the birth, although my husband was told there was no need to do a examination as the monitor told them I wasn't in labour.

Secondly, there seems to be a big gulf in customer service and general friendless from the day staff and night staff. As much as they seem too different teams from 2 different hospitals. Day team very friendly, can't do enough. Night team, in patient, un kind, un thoughtful, not akin to the patient feellings,...with 1exception a young girl who cared for us after birth she was excellent. My advice r-hall is a great maternity hospital as long as you giv birth in the day...failure to do this will result in poor service, poor standards of mid wifey, pain and general regret.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment about your experience of our Maternity Services.

We do aim to offer our mums-to-be the highest standards of care and we are sorry if we have fallen short of those standards on this occasion. It is so disappointing to hear you feel you did not receive the best possible care from our night team.

We would like to apologise for the time you had to wait for pain relief. Timeliness of pain medication is of the upmost importance and we will ensure the matron in Maternity is made aware of your comments.

It is difficult to comment further on your specific experience without your own details and reviewing your medical notes, but if you wished to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 073 0510 we would happily look into the issues you have raised.

We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful