"Being a new patient, I didn't know the process"

About: Tamar Referral & Appointments Centre

(as the patient),

GP just said ref would be made but no further info was given to me at that time about the process of booking etc. This is not a complaint just an observation that sometimes GPs under pressure presume all patients know the process. Being a new patient at GPs, I didn’t.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gemma Smith, Tamar Referral & Appointments Centre (TRAC)

Dear ‘Night497’,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience of using the TRAC service and I apologise you did not receive the information you needed when making an appointment. In the majority of patient referrals, the GP Practice provides the patient with an information leaflet detailing the next steps and that the Tamar Referral Appointments Centre (TRAC) team will contact the patient directly to book an appointment. It seems as though you did not receive this information.

The TRAC team has a good relationship with GP practices and we will be sure to feed this back to our colleagues and make sure patients are given the information they need.

Kind regards

Gemma Tremlett

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful