"Appalling follow up care"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

Anything else?

My father endured a stay at Russells Hall in December 2012, admitted due to a lesion in his leg and put on bed rest. Whilst Russell's Hall spent too much time faffing about arguing with the Royal Orthopaedic over responsibility to operate, my father's femur broke. It then took a further two days to repair his leg, and once operated on his care was abysmal. Two days after his operation he had been allowed to become severely dehydrated, and was barely coherent. Since this stay, he has received no follow up for physiotherapy or any element of care from the orthopaedic team. Yesterday, he visited the hospital for an appointment that I had to chase up and was simply weighed / blood pressure taken etc, no check up to see that the operation had been successful or referral to physiotherapy despite being told that this would happen when he was discharged.

I find this totally unacceptable. My father is a normally healthy 73 year old however he was just written off as an idiot by the staff that dealt with him after his operation. I wouldn't wish anyone a stay in your orthopaedic department!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post you feedback about the care you received at our hospital.

We are very disturbed to hear you had such a negative experience while you were in the care of our orthopaedic team and we would like to sincerely apologise for this. It is never acceptable for any of our patients to become dehydrated. Indeed we have a strict regime for checking the amount of fluids patients take in to ensure they do not become dehydrated.

It is difficult to comment on the other points you have raised, in particular the involvement of the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, without your own details and reviewing your medical notes. Wed would welcome the opportunity to investigate your concerns and would ask you to get in touch with our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 073 0510.

We do aim to offer our patients the highest standards of care and we are very sorry if we have fallen short of those standards on this occasion. We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful