"Avoid this Hospital"

Anything else?

From my recent experiences spent dealing with a sick ralative at this hospital I would only use the hospital with caution. Much of the treatment that my relative has received is below that expected from competent professionals. Basic care has been lacking (3 weeks without a bath or shower, long waits to get to the toilet). Basic cleanliness is lacking and seemingly simple investigations take too long to be performed. Medical information has been told to me one day and then the next I have been told exactly the opposite. After more than 3 weeks we seem no closer to a diagnosis. My relative is quite elderly but was living an independent life. After spending 3 weeks in hospital she has lost much of her mobility and also had a dose of the Noro Virus.

The final straw in a catalogue of issues came today after an investigation was cancelled due to a 'misunderstanding' I am going in tomorrow to start a formal complaint.

I have never posted a review before and dont think I am a seriel complainer but I have grave misgivings about the standards I have seen at the PRUH.

Iff I am ever seriously ill I will try to get to Kings.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Royal University Hospital

I am very sorry for the poor experience you and your relative have had at the PRUH. This clearly falls below the standards patients should be able to expect from us. There are a number of serious issues you have raised which need proper investigation. I note that you are in the process of making a formal complaint, but if you have not done so I would encourage you to contact our PALs department who can take this further for you. They can be contacted on Tel: 01689 863252

Email: slh-tr.br-pals@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful