"Not Happy ~ had to escape!"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

I had to be admitted due to a high level of pain due to injury / illness.

I was shocked with how long I had to wait for pain relief ~ when in very severe pain.

I'm afraid it was always during the day. The night staff although Very few for so many patients were great. When in absolutely excruciating pain whilst having scans+ xrays ~there was'nt anyone present to authorise pain relief. When being put back on the ward, obviously in a lot of pain distress ~ there was no-one to help. I had to ask my relative to bring in 2 of my usual daily spare medication from home to help me through until the day staff eventually arrived with the medication trolly. Although when mu realative arrived to console me they were rudely shouted at by a member of staff. I was in so much pain I had to raise my voice and told them that I was leaving and he was collecting me. [which was a lie]

The staff for everything from cleaning to feeding lunch/dinner to the the bed ridden + helping people to the bathroom ~ reacting to peoples nurse emergency buttons were very very few.

Unfortunately I have had to be admitted to different wards at this hospital before but have never had any problems with staff care or pain relief before everyone was always fantastic ~ only lack of cleaning at times ~ I must add that every Doctor / Consultant that came to se me whilst on this ward [ February 2013] including the Pain clinic people were Fantastic with helping me to understand what was going on in my body. This has helped me to understand how to get better at home with medication and advice from my GP. I never like to be bed ridden but i had no choice at times whilst waiting for staff + pain relief. [ And I couldn't walk]

I do not normally complain about the NHS as I have mostly been helped with every problem that has come my way ~ I just feel that it was not just me to complain but my family members also. I hope that the managers of the hospital can take a look around the wards at times and visit patients for their views in order to help patients in future.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Thank you for sharing your experience. We would really like to pass it to our staff and managers in the area you were treated in to make sure we can learn from your experience. However, to do that we need a little bit more information from you. Can you please contact our Patient Information and Liaison Service (PILS) 08081 788337 http://www.leicestershospitals.nhs.uk/patients/patient-welfare/patient-information-and-liaison-service/ Thank you

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful