"A&E ineffciencies"

Anything else?

I have now been to A&E several times with my mother inlaw with a heart problem.Frankly go to Pembury not here. The two consultants we saw particualrly the one on the last time were good, really caring. however, the management needs a complete overall. Firstly ambulance staff should not have to wait outside the dors tonA &E with you on a trolley for ages, Nursing staff should actually nurse. no one comes near as you wait for hours to see a doctor , none ask if you want water or if they can help. You are repeatedly visited by junior staff and nurses asking you to repeat information already given as shifts change, maddening for anyone never mind the elderly. two nurses in particular we're incredibly rude to my mother in law, who isn't' demented or stupid, just a bit deaf, treating her without care or any real concern. When she asked after 5 hours when she was going to see someone, she was barked at 'oh that's why you're here is it you and all the rest!'

i also spent time with my husband who was developing cellulitis in his leg thus needing a quick diagnosis to prevent it escalating,as it does, and antibiotics, all late at night, the nurse sent us to A&E minor injury unit the other side of Orpington as he ryelybadmitted it was pointless waiting at Bromley as my husband needed to be seen quickly and it would be hours. Another incident waitingin a&E watching in reception for 3 hours whislt the receptionist ate a yoghurt whilst an old lady sat in a wheelchair for hours and no one came near to ask her if she needed a drink, the loo, or a blanket. Shocking.

The CEo ought to spend time in A&E in disguise . staff need to smarten up and stop sitting around their desk, they are pretty desultory, Onevsenior nurse I saw smoking outside during her break. Try being admitted aftervwaiting all afternoon and evening and then being left, as my mother in law was, without food until the following day when she was laughed at for requesting and was given plain bread. The. food is simply atrocious!

the whole hospital needs proper management. No wonder it went bust, it is self evident there is no real or effective management. It is sloppy, management need to get out of their offices and experience what patient experience is Like.No other industry or profession could treat its customers so appallingly. Any one experiencing Bromley who has any common sense and intelligence itches to standup and sort out the inefficient practices seen e.g waiting hours to be discharged there is one man delivering the drugs round to all the wards and you have to wait your turn, despite the fact you pass the pharmacy on the way out- no wonder you are left waiting down inA&E to be admitted- the beds are being clogged up by an inefficient system. All vert poor so ratherbthan a platitude in response to this please pass onto the CEo and put in measuresbto ensure staff treat patients with care, with politeness and with respectable and a degree of speed

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Royal University Hospital

We are very sorry for your poor experiences at our A&E. We have been experiencing pressure across the hospital, which has impacted on the department and has led to an increase in waiting times for patients. However, there is no excuse for the behaviour you have described. We expect more from our staff and it is something that we are addressing urgently. I have passed your comment on to our management team who are meeting to discuss your experience with staff. Please contact our PALs department on Tel: 01689 863252 or

Email: slh-tr.br-pals@nhs.net who will be able to look into the specifics of what happened when you attended A&E and respond to you personally and in detail.

The long waits you describe in the department are something that Clinicians and managers of the trust, including our Chief Executive, are aware of. In recent weeks this hospital, along with many others across the country, has had difficulty admitting patients into ward beds in a timely way. This is a complex issue, but if there are more patients needing hospital beds, and/or are staying for longer than the hospital has capacity, patients back-up in A&E, effectively waiting for a bed to become available. This has been a major and widespread issue recently, meaning that A&E has had to accommodate many patients waiting for beds, along with new patients arriving, creating considerable congestion and limiting the available space and staff capacity. This problem has been exacerbated by further temporary bed closures which have been necessary to avoid the risk of norovirus transmission from patients in the hospital with diarrhoea.