"Gynaecology at Rotherham"

About: Rotherham Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

In January I was referred back to the Gynaecology department at Rotherham DGH. I had been under one consultant the previous year, but found him to be very unhelpful. On first seeing my consultant in clinic, he agreed that I have a problem and was very helpful. However, when I tried to get a follow-up appointment it was a different story. I contacted his secretary on five separate occasions, even my GP phoned to try and get me seen, before my consultant said that I had nothing wrong with me and I didn't need to been seen again.

I have been suffering from gynaecological problems for nearly 10 years and have found the treatment I have received (or not!) has been extremely poor. Both of the consultants that I have seen have been very dismissive of the problems that I am having, and because they cannot find an obvious cause, they have both refused to treat me further.

To anyone who is experiencing gynaecological problems, my advice would be to stay well clear of Rotherham.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jackie Brown, Service Improvement Programme Facilitator, Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

We are very concerned to read the comments you put onto Patient Opinion. We are very sorry you feel this way about the service we offered you. We try very hard to ensure the communication we have with patients is consistent, and it appears on this occasion we let you down. However without your specific details, it is really difficult to do a full investigation and highlight exactly what happened. I would be really grateful if you could contact me, at your earliest convenience, and we can discuss your concerns further. Many thanks Jill Green, Gynaecology Out Patient Manager, Telephone number 307641

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read