"Worst antenatal care , rude uncaring staff"

About: Royal Free Hospital

Anything else?

I picked Royal free as the hospital to have my baby delievered in and it has been such a terrible experience. Majority of staffs are unfriendly and very authoritative, a lot of the midwives seems like they cannot be bothered and are often quiet rude.Both doctors and midwives invites students in without your permission and could care less whether comfortable or not.I was made to feel like a guinea pig, my needs does not seem to matter to these staffs and they are often reluctant to explain my care to me in detail, when there have been medical students in the room i have been made to feel like they are the patient and i am the observer.When doctors notice something maybe wrong instead of reassuring a snd talking to the patient they often build up your anxiety and you end up going home worried sick and know one seem to care.Staff are rude arrogant and very unhelpful except from a few who seem like they actually enjoy their job and care about patients needs or even maintain respect and dignity.I often hear other patients care and things about patiently being publicly discussef by staff and staff having their own chit chats whiles patients wait on them.I have met staff at the Royal free who will not even talk to me verbally but rather use hand gestures and yes they are able to communicate verbally.I cannot imagine any other hospital worse than Royal free.I wil like to add that the midwife at the day assesment unit, the lady who take bloods at the antenatal department and 1 or 2 other staff are a credit to Royal free they actually avknowledge you and nake you feel cared for oo not to forget a gentle man i spoke to at antenatals appt he generally sounded like he cared and was very helpful.I hope something will be done and maybe staff will change their attitudes against patients.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Free Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the care you received. I have passed your feedback onto the team and if you would like to discuss the issues that you have raised here further, please contact out Patient Advice and Liaison Service; contact details here: http://tinyurl.com/87ln6pa

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful