"Bad nursing service"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

Anything else?

I was a t Russell’s Hall Hospital for nearly six months of and on with a chronic pain syndrome

The nurses wrote on my chart "CC" to mean that I was a chronic complainer

I was told off for asking for medication as it interfered with the Nurses plans.

A nurse was helping me as I was vomiting and while she was helping me she was talking to t others about what she wanted for her lunch.

I saw another patient who had dementia and was clearly in pain, when I bought this up I was told to shut up and mind my own business as dementia patient s can’t feel pain.

While I was there and was suffering from vomiting I ask for jelly, and was told it would cost 60p per serving as this was only available from the canteen.

I found the staff to be rude and incompetent. When I challenged them they blamed me for being a complainer.

This behavior is inexcusable

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for your feedback on your visit to Russells Hall Hospital. We do aim to offer all our patients the very highest standards of care and we are disappointed to hear we did not meet those standards on this occasion.

You are absolutely right: there is no excuse for rudeness and our staff should never tell a patient to ‘shut up’. This kind of behaviour would be totally unacceptable.

However, there is a strong possibility you have misunderstood the abbreviation C.C. In the days of the typewriter, this meant Carbon Copy but today is usually means Courtesy Copy or Copy to.

We would welcome an opportunity to look into your comments further but it is difficult without reviewing your case notes. We would encourage you to get in touch with our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 0730510.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story