"Horrifying and astonishing"

About: Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Hospital

Anything else?

Intense displeasure at the lack of staffing levels on a major surgical ward, both night and day time. This was totally disgusting and horrifying, due to alarms for patient care was not answered quickly or efficiently for their needs to be fulfilled.

The notices that are displayed to aid both patient and visitor, are not adhered to, one in particular states “All needs and discussions of the patient in an hand-over role will be carried out with the staff and patient alike”, this did not happen.

It would have been nice to have a pleasant stay after an operation; not left in pain, as the doctors had not written up any medication that was so badly needed.

The big question is “why have a pre op, and bring all the medication that is currently being taken, to find that it needs to be reviewed after the op, rather than have it all localized and readily to hand for the patient to resume their drugs as soon as possible after their surgery”. This needs to be addressed and taken on board to help improve the whole holistic patient care needs, to help the staff deal with the mental, physical and emotional needs of the client, and have empathy to their social and spiritual needs.

The Hospital its self, was a total wreck, not only were there building works going on, but to have 2 out of 3 toilets not working is a joke. The lifts need intense cleansing as the sides and floor were totally foul, anyone person visiting would catch more disease for them than anywhere else.

The food served and offered sounded more inciting than the actual taste of them, however, the trolley catered both in drinks, and snacks had a good selection of items, so no complaints in that department.

To finish this offering, must be that patient care for the needier had to give at the expensive of others as stated due to the lack of staffing levels. The theatre staff, consultants, and surgeons along with back up aftercare were the best.

I would not recommend this hospital to a relative or friend unless it was the only choice open; I personally did not have a choice offered.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julie Pearce, Chief Nurse + Director of Quality + Operations, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay with us. I would like to follow through with you to understand which ward you were on and for me to be able to provide constructive feedback to the Matron and ward team.

I can be contacted on Julie.pearce1@nhs.net - this will be a confidential discussion should you choose to follow this up.

I hope you continue to recover well from your operation.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful