"Poor communications between relevant parties"

About: St Helier Hospital

Anything else?

Compared with Epsom that had good pre & post operative preperations for the patient, this was not evident at St. Helier and they did not seem aware of these procedures when the query was raised before and after the operation.

Care was good in the HTU as one would expect, but once on the ward, care seemed to be on an as needed basis. Basic follow up procedures poor or missed. e.g. instructing and helping the patient (stoma useage), removal of metal staples missed until pointed out to ward staff.

Discharge procedure seemed inadequate and poor, (also commented on by the district nurse who visited the patient following discharge and contacted seperately).

There was a lot of food waste. Portion control and menu not suitable for post operative patients (i.e. too much). Some meals uneaten and some beverages not drinkable - e.g. tea.

(Written on behalf of 90+ year old patient by next of kin.)

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Helier Hospital

We are glad to hear you were pleased with our pre and post-operative procedures at Epsom Hospital but disappointed to hear you were less pleased with the ward care at St Helier Hospital. We will ensure this feedback is passed on to staff. Dr James Marsh Joint Medical Director

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful