"My Feedback"

About: Wexham Park Hospital

Anything else?

I was admitted as an emergency in September 2012 with unstable angina. For the first 5 days I was in an general medicine/assessment ward (cannot remember the ward number) and for the initial 3 days here I had no emergency buzzer as they didn't have any. After day 3 i was finally found a buzzer, but this didn't work! I was advised by the nurses that if I needed any help during the night to shout (at night!). There were already many patients shouting throughout the night so it wasn't the most restful place.

For the next 3 weeks I had a broken bed which nobody could fix, the ward was short staffed especially at night, and I witnessed elderly dementia patients being neglected, when I inquired as to what training staff had with dealing with dementia I was told they had't had any.

I was then moved to Harefield to have an operation and the care appeared much better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wexham Park Hospital

We are sorry to hear of the problems that you experienced during your admission. It is not acceptable that your call bell was not working and our staff should be checking daily that they are working properly. This has been raised with our senior nursing team. The hospital provides dementia training to staff, so I can onyl apologise that you were misinformed, and we also employ trained mental health nurses to support our teams with caring for dementia patients, in addition to other patients who require their specialist input.

I hope that you have made a good recovery.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story